

AGAWAM HIGH SCHOOL PROJECT - Agawam, MA

SCHOOL BUILDING COMMITTEE (SBC) MEETING - KICK-OFF MEETING

December 13, 2022 In-Person Meeting 3:00PM

High School Building Committee Agawam Public Library, Pierce Conference Room 750 Cooper Street Agawam, MA 01001

Jim Blain William Sapelli- Chair Jennifer Bonfiglio Raymond Casella Robert Clickstein Sheila Hoffman Louis Conte Dawn DeMatteo Timothy Karetka Brian Melloni Brian Pagella Anthony Suffriti Robin Wozniak Christopher Caputo Linda Liporto James Riefstahl Adele Sands Jay Faxon Jim Rogers

Meeting Minutes for December 13, 2022

A scheduled meeting of the High School Building Committee was held on December 13, 2022 at 3:00pm, at the Pierce Conference Room in Agawam Public Library. Committee members and attendees

Voting Member	Present	Absent	<u>Notes</u>
William Sapelli-Chair	X		
Jennifer Bonfiglio	X		
Raymond Casella	X		
Robert Clickstein		X	
Louis Conte	X		
Dawn DeMatteo	X		
Sheila Hoffman		X	
Timothy Karetka	X		
Brian Melloni	X		
Brian Pagella	X		
Anthony Suffriti	X		
Robin Wozniak		X	
Christopher Caputo	X		
Project Team Members			
Linda Liporto	X		Leftfield - Senior Project Manager
James Riefstahl	X		Leftfield - Project Director
Jim Rogers		X	Leftfield - Owner
Adele Sands		X	Leftfield - Education Liaison

Meeting was called to order by Chair-Mayor Sapelli at 3:04pm.

(7 voting members required for a quorum).

1 – Introductions

James Riefstahl and Linda Liporto introduced themselves as the Leftfield team. All SBC members introduced themselves around the room.

2 – Meeting Presentation

The Leftfield team displayed a digital presentation that covered the upcoming steps in the process. The presentation started with introductions of the LeftField team, covered the upcoming 20 months schedule, the designer selection process, and the MSBA upcoming steps.

3 - MSBA Process

During the presentation the MSBA Designer Selection Panel ("DSP") was discussed. This panel is required for any project over \$5 million dollars and is led by the MSBA's DSP which is composed of 13 MSBA and Industry experts plus 3 assigned Agawam representatives. One member must be the Superintendent or their designee, one must be the CEO/Mayor/Town Manager or their designee, and one must be a member of the School Committee. Nine members present constitutes a quorum.

After Committee discussion, a request for a vote to assign the Mayor William Sapelli, Superintendent Sheila Hoffman and School Committee member Dawn DeMatteo as DSP Members was made by Jim Blain, second by Anthony Suffriti, and motion was approved unanimously by those present via roll call:

Voting Member	<u>In Favor</u>	Opposed	<u>Absent</u>	Abstained
William Sapelli-Chair	X			
Jennifer Bonfiglio	X			
Raymond Casella	X			
Robert Clickstein			X	
Louis Conte	X			
Dawn DeMatteo	X			
Sheila Hoffman			X	
Timothy Karetka	X			
Brian Melloni	X			
Brian Pagella	X			
Anthony Suffriti	X			
Robin Wozniak			X	
Christopher Caputo	X			

Jennifer Bonfiglio made a motion to approve the submission of the draft RFS to the MSBA. The motion was seconded by Anthony Suffriti and approved unanimously by those present via roll call:

Voting Member	In Favor	Opposed	Absent	Abstained
William Sapelli-Chair	X			
Jennifer Bonfiglio	X			
Raymond Casella	X			
Robert Clickstein			X	
Louis Conte	X			
Dawn DeMatteo	X			
Sheila Hoffman			X	
Timothy Karetka	X			
Brian Melloni	X			
Brian Pagella	X			
Anthony Suffriti	X			
Robin Wozniak			X	
Christopher Caputo	X			

4 – Public Comment

No public attendees were present.

5 – New Business

No questions were raised.

6 - Next Meeting

Leftfield asked about upcoming meetings, and the suggestion for SBC meetings every 2nd and 4th Tuesday at 3pm was made. Next meeting will be January 10, 2023 via zoom. Discussion of some meetings being held in person when a presentation is made, and some meetings that only requires updates and votes can be held via zoom. The January 10th meeting will be an update on the Designer RFS process only, and will be held via zoom.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chris Caputo, seconded by Louis Conte.

Voting Member	In Favor	Opposed	<u>Absent</u>	<u>Abstained</u>
William Sapelli-Chair	X			
Jennifer Bonfiglio	X			
Raymond Casella	X			
Robert Clickstein			X	
Louis Conte	X			
Dawn DeMatteo	X			
Sheila Hoffman			X	
Timothy Karetka	X			
Brian Melloni	X			
Brian Pagella	X			
Anthony Suffriti	X			
Robin Wozniak			X	
Christopher Caputo	X			