Agawam High School

Building Project

Project Team

School Building Committee (“SBC”)

The Agawam High School Building Committee (“SBC”) consists of Town and School employees/officials and members of the Community for the purpose of generally monitoring the MSBA Application process and to advise the Town of Agawam during the construction of the Project.

Jim Blain – Principal Agawam High School

Jennifer Bonfiglio – Chief Procurement Officer

Christopher Caputo – Treasurer/Collector

Raymond Casella – Community Member/Local Architect

Robert Clickstein – School Business Administrator

Louis Conte – Retired Agawam Public Schools AD/Teacher

Dawn DeMatteo – School Committee Member

Sheila Hoffman – School Superintendent

Timothy Karetka – Assistant Principal Agawam High School

Brian Melloni – Teacher

Brian Pagella – Building Maintenance Director

William Sapelli – Mayor

Anthony Suffriti – City Councilor

Robin Wozniak – Community Member

Massachusetts Schools Building Authority (“MSBA”)

The Massachusetts School Building Authority (“MSBA”) is a quasi-independent government authority created to reform the process of funding capital improvement projects in the Commonwealth’s public schools. The MSBA strives to work with local communities to create affordable, sustainable, and energy efficient schools across Massachusetts.

The MSBA’s grant program for school building construction and renovation projects is a non-entitlement competitive program. The MSBA’s Board of Directors approves grants based on need and urgency as expressed by the City, Town, Regional School District or independent agricultural and technical school and validated by the MSBA.

The MSBA, which has a dedicated revenue stream of one penny of the state’s 6.25-percent sales tax, has made more than $15.1 billion in reimbursements to cities, towns, and regional school districts for school construction projects through the MSBA’s online Pro-Pay System.

LeftField – Owners Project Manager (“OPM”)

LEFTFIELD is an Owner’s Representative and Project Management firm, established in 2007. We specialize in owners project management services and have significant experience in the public sector, working with municipalities and building authorities. Leftfield’s staff has managed over $2.6 billion in MSBA-funded projects since MSBA’s inception in 2004. As Owners Project Managers, we work in conjunction with the Owner serving as an extension of their staff. Our primary role is to protect the Owner’s interests, to ensure that the Owner is well-served and that the established goals and objectives are met in the most efficient manner, physically and fiscally.

LEFTFIELD is well-versed in all phases of project management: planning, feasibility, preconstruction, design, bidding, construction, commissioning, and close-out. We have significant experience in working on both design-bid-build construction contract methodologies as well as with the Construction Management at-Risk (CM at-Risk) approach. In addition to managing the design and construction of a project, LEFTFIELD has been instrumental in assisting owners with the acceptance and turnover of buildings from construction to operations.

For more information go to


Jim Rogers, MCPPO

Principal in Charge

James Riefstahl, MCPPO, LEED AP, CDT

Project Director

Linda Liporto, MCPPO, LEED, CSL, OSHA

Senior Project Manager

Adele Sands

Education Liaison

Bernie Melone, OSHA

Site Representative

Jay Faxon

MEP Specialist

Lynn Stapleton, MCPPO, AIA, LEED AP

Community Outreach

David Saindon, MCPPO, OSHA

Project Advisor

Sally Rogers

ProPay Administrator

Flansburgh Architects – Design Firm

Flansburgh Architects has been selected to provide feasibility and schematic design services for the new Agawam High School Project in Agawam, MA.  Flansburgh Architects was ranked the top firm based on similar high school experience, ability to demonstrate cost control strategies, design to the budget, and developed creative spaces that will meet the district’s educational vision.

The Flansburgh team will be led by Kent Kovacs AIA, Principal-in-Charge, to develop an educational sound and fiscally responsible solution for the Agawam High School.  Flansburgh Architects is a nationally recognized leader and celebrates 60 years in educational design.

Kent Kovacs, AIA

Principal in Charge

Vince Dube, AIA

Project Manager

Madeleine Le, AIA, LEED AP

Project Architect

Roberta Nardi

Project Designer

Jade Cummings

Co-Owner & Principal, Terraink Landscape Architect


Project Process - Module 3

Module 3 is under way and a detailed survey of the existing building has been done in order to identify and catalogue all the spaces that are currently being used.

Educational Visioning and Space Planning is completed, and with the help of the Leadership team, teachers, students and parents, we have identified existing issues and challenges with the building, as well as goals and visions for a potential new school and making the educational plan the best possible.

The project team submitted the Preliminary Design Program (PDP) to the MSBA on July 28, 2023, and received comments back from the MSBA which were responded to.

The project team then submitted the Preferred Schematic Report (PSR) on October 26, 2023, and are currently waiting on the formal comments back from the MSBA.

The project team and District then met with the FAS (Facilities Assessment Subcommittee) on November 15th, to introduce the project to the FAS group so they can make the recommendation to present at the MSBA Board of Directors meeting on December 13, when the Town of Agawam is hoping to have the High School project approved to proceed into schematic design.



Community Forum #4

November 27, 2023 – 6pm at the High School Library

Community Forum #3

Thursday September 28, 2023 – 6-7:30pm

Community Forum #2

Monday August 28, 2023 – 6-7:30pm

City Council Working Session #2

August 21, 2023 – 3-4pm